Georgia Laws Regarding Fireworks

  • For roughly the past decade, Georgia has allowed the sale of sparklers, small fountains and other non-explosive fireworks. But, in 2015, a new law loosened restrictions on the kind of fireworks that could be sold. Now, bottle rockets, firecrackers, Roman candles and other fireworks are available for sale in the state.

  • A person must be 18 years old or or older in order to purchase fireworks in Georgia. No one under 16 may hold or use fireworks, according to the law. Individuals aged 16 to 17 years may be in possession of fireworks only when serving as an assistant to a licensed distributor or certain not-for-profit organizations, and they cannot at any time transport fireworks on interstate highways.

  • Statewide in Georgia, the law states that fireworks may only be used between 10 a.m. and 9 p.m. on most nights. There are exceptions on days like New Year's Eve and the Fourth of July, when the cutoff is extended to 1 a.m (New Year's) and midnight (Fourth of July). Local governments may vote to extend those hours.

  • Fireworks may not be fired on roads or highways, or within 100 yards of a hospital, nursing home or prison.

  • They may not be used in a park, historic site, recreational area or other property owned by the city or county unless special permission has been granted.

  • Fireworks can't legally be set off by anyone under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

  • They can't be fired indoors, or within 100 yards of a nuclear power facility, gas station, electric plant, water treatment plant, waste-water treatment plant, any public or private substation.

© 2023 Freedom Fireworks, LLC (GA)

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon